PBC Unveils Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team

PBC Unveils Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team

FLORENCE, SC  -- The Peach Belt Conference has released the 2015 women's tennis All-Conference team from a banquet in Florence, S.C., on the eve of the PBC Tournament.  

Armstrong State's Alejandra Cisneros was named both the PBC Player of the Year and the PBC Freshman of the Year.  UNC Pembroke coach Robin Langley was named the Coach of the Year.

Cisneros took the PBC by storm in her first season of collegiate tennis.  A four-time PBC Player of the Week, she was undefeated in dual matches this spring with a perfect 22-0 record.  She played at least one match at all six singles spots but played the most at #1 singles with an 8-0 record including five wins over nationally-ranked opponents including two in the top 10.  From Tampico, Mexico, she did not drop a set all season long and no player took more than three games off of her in any set during the year.

Cisneros becomes the third Armstrong women's tennis player to win both the Freshman and Player of the Year in the same season.  Other players to pull of the rare double were Sona Novakova in 2009, Zsofi Golopencza in 2001 and Stephanie Kovacic in 2000.  In fact, Cisneros becomes only the ninth PBC student-athlete in all team sports to earn both the Freshman and Player of the Year in the same season.

Robin Langley earns her first PBC Coach of the Year honor in 2015.  After 16 years of leading the Braves women's tennis team, coach Langley had the unenviable task of keeping her team focused and competitive after learning during the year that the program would be discontinued.  Coach Langley and the Braves soldiered on, at one point winning four of five matches but not earning one of the top eight spots for a berth in the PBC Tournament.  She becomes the second UNCP women's tennis coach to be named the PBC Coach of the Year, joining Dawn Langley who captured the award in 1992.

The 2015 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own teams.

2015 Peach Belt Conference
Women's Tennis All-Conference Team

First Team

Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong
Camille Clausse-Pujo, Georgia College
Hannah Keeling, Clayton State
Beatriz Leon, Columbus State
Lena Lutzeier, Armstrong
Clara Perez, Armstrong

Beatriz Leon & Giorgia Vitale, Columbus State
Clara Perez & Lena Lutzeier, Armstrong
Carolina Prats-Millan & Nicole Fossa-Huergo, Armstrong

Second Team

Samantha Koelliker, Francis Marion
Nikola Polcerova, Montevallo
Macy Polk, Georgia College
Carolina Prats-Millan, Armstrong
Esther Santiago, Flagler
Kirsa Utech, Columbus State

Hannah Keeling & Raluca Pavel, Clayton State
Samantha Koelliker & Julia Graf, Francis Marion
Diana Stomlega & Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong

Elite 15 Award
Renata Mello, Lander

Player of the Year
Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong

Freshman of the Year

Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong

Coach of the Year
Robin Langley, UNC Pembroke

Women's Tennis Freshman and Player of the Year Alejandra Cisneros, Armstrong
Women's Tennis Coach of the Year Robin Langley, UNC Pembroke
Women's Tennis First Team All-Conference
Women's Tennis Second Team All-Conference