Columbus State Claims PBC Women’s Cross Country Crown for Sixth Time

Columbus State Claims PBC Women’s Cross Country Crown for Sixth Time

Results | Photo Gallery

EVANS, GA – The Columbus State women’s cross country team won their sixth straight PBC Championship on Saturday as all five runners scored in the top 10 on the 6k course at Blanchard Woods Park in Evans, Ga.  The six straight titles is one short of the PBC record of seven set by Kennesaw State from 1994-99.  Augusta State was second in the team standings while UNC Pembroke was third.  CSU’s Brittany Skiles won the individual championship and broke the course record.

Skiles bested the 6k course record by more than 30 seconds as she toured the complex in 23:36, finishing ahead of teammate and defending PBC champion Naomi Tanui who was second in 23:45.  In 2009, it was Tanui who won the race while Skiles finished second.  The win is her first in four PBC Championships and she also earns her third All-Conference award.  Ashley Arnold finished fifth for CSU in 24:49 while Caroline Rotich was ninth with 25:23 and Moneque English 10th in 25:24.

Augusta State tied their best finish at a Peach Belt championship, equaling their second-place finishes in 2007 and 2008 on Saturday.  Holly Keeper was the first Lady Jaguar to cross the line in third place overall with a time of 24:04, just ahead of teammate Claudia Nunez-Lopez who was fourth in 24:06.  Lyndsey Nichols was 14th in 25:32.

UNC Pembroke enjoyed their best conference finish since 2005.  Bonne MacDonald was sixth overall in 25:04 while Livia Mahaffie was 13th in 25:32

Clayton State’s Kourtney Aylor was 11th overall as the Lakers finished fourth as a team.  Montevallo’s Haley Evans finished eighth in a time of 25:23 while Georgia College’s Allison Lones was 12th in 25:30.  USC Aiken’s Keely Gillespie finished seventh overall in 25:21 and was the low freshman in the meet and named the PBC Freshman of the Year, the first Lady Pacer to ever earn that award.

The top seven individuals were named first-team All-Conference following the meet with the second seven named second-team All-Conference.

2010 PBC Women’s Cross Country
All-Conference Team

First Team

Brittney Skiles, Columbus State
Naomi Tanui, Columbus State
Holly Keeper, Augusta State
Claudia Nunez-Lopez, Augusta State
Ashley Arnold, Columbus State
Bonnie MacDonald, UNC Pembroke
Keely Gillespie, USC Aiken

Second Team

Haley Evans, Montevallo
Caroline Rotich, Columbus State
Moneque English, Columbus State
Kourtney Aylor, Clayton State
Allison Lones, Georgia College
Livia Mahaffie, UNC Pembroke
Lyndsey Nichols, Augusta State

Freshman of the Year
Keely Gillespie, USC Aiken

2010 PBC Women’s Cross Country

All-Conference Team