Three PBC Women’s Tennis Teams to Compete in NCAA Tournament

Three PBC Women’s Tennis Teams to Compete in NCAA Tournament

INDIANAPOLIS, IND – Three Peach Belt Conference women's tennis teams learned that they will continue their seasons as the NCAA announced the Tournament field.  Columbus State will serve as one of the two hosts for the Southeast Regional.  North Georgia and Flagler have also advanced.

Play will begin on Monday, May 13, at the two regional sites and conclude on May 14.  The winners from the two sites will join the 14 other sub-regional winners at the NCAA National Championships May 22-25 in Altamonte Springs, Fla.

The Lady Cougars were the No. 2 seed and will take on seventh-seeded Emmanuel in the first round on Monday, May 13 at 9:00 a.m. Following that match it will be third-seeded Tusculum taking on sixth-seeded Flagler with with winners of each match playing for a spot to the Round of 16 on Tuesday, May 14 at 1:00 p.m.

After a trip to the championship site a year ago, the No. 12 University of North Georgia women's tennis team is back in the NCAA Tournament and will head back to Wingate for the regional round as the Nighthawks claimed the No. 4 seed in the Southeast Region. This is the third straight trip to the NCAA tournament for the Nighthawks since making their first ever appearance in the tournament in 2017.

North Georgia will take on fifth seeded and No. 20 Queens in the opening round as UNG looks to avenge a 5-2 loss from earlier in the year. That match will take place on Monday, May 13, and the winner will take on top seeded and No. 10 Wingate on Tuesday.

Flagler (16-6), the No. 6 seed, is making its ninth appearance in the NCAA Division II Tournament and will face the No. 3 seed, and No. 16-ranked, Tusculum University (17-3) at 12 p.m. on Monday. These two programs have never met.

Monday, May 13 

9:00 a.m. - #2 Columbus State vs. #7 Emmanuel

12:00 p.m. - #3 Tusculum vs. #6 Flagler (Columbus, Ga.)

1:00 pm - #4 North Georgia vs. #5 Queens (Wingate, N.C.)

Tuesday, May 14

1:00 p.m. – Region Finals (both sites)