PBC Releases Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team

PBC Releases Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team

The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2010 women’s tennis All-Conference team from Morrow, Ga., the site of the 2010 tournament.   Armstrong Atlantic State’s Sona Novakova was named the PBC Player of the Year for the second straight season while her head coach Simon Earnshaw was named the Coach of the Year.   Columbus State’s Tracy Castillo was honored as the Freshman of the Year.

Novakova becomes the fourth straight AASU player to win consecutive Player of the Year awards following Zsofi Golopencza (2001-04), Luisa Cowper (2005-06) and Iuliia Stupak (2007-08).  In all, AASU tennis players have had 16 of the 19 PBC Players of the Year.

Novakova is the #2-ranked singles player in Division II with a 17-2 overall record in singles play.  The sophomore from Slapanice, Czech Republic lost only 10 games to conference opponents in 2010.  She won the ITA Super Bowl of Small College Tennis in the fall and has wins over three of the top 20 singles players in the nation. Novakova becomes the third women’s tennis player to win the Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year awards. She was named Freshman of the Year in 2009.

Tracy Castillo lost only one match in conference play in 2010, that to AASU’s Alida Muller-Wehlau.  Ranked #22 in the nation, Castillo was 16-4 at #2 singles for the Cougars and has a top-10 win over #8 Sabina Baberadova of Francis Marion.  Castillo becomes only the second Cougar to be named the PBC Freshman of the Year, joining Riette du Toit, who was the first-ever Freshman of the Year in 1997.

Simon Earnshaw claims his fourth straight PBC Coach of the Year award,  joining Kennesaw State women’s cross country coach Stan Sims as the only two coaches in all PBC sports to win four straight Coach of the Year awards.  The 2010 Lady Pirates are ranked #1 in the nation and won their fourth straight PBC regular-season title.  The #1 seed at the PBC Tournament, AASU will be seeking their seventh straight tournament championship as they begin the quest for a third straight national championship.

The 2010 all-conference team is listed below as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 Peach Belt Conference
Women’s All-Conference Team
Singles Players

First Team
Diane Danna, GCSU
Lorianne Favoretto, Columbus State
Alida Muller-Wehlau, Armstrong Atlantic State
Sona Novakova, Armstrong Atlantic State
Tina Ronel, Armstrong Atlantic State
Tereza Sykorova, Francis Marion

Second Team
Sabina Baberadova, Francis Marion
Martina Beckmann, Armstrong Atlantic State
Tracy Castillo, Columbus State
Gabriella Kovacs, Armstrong Atlantic State
Viktoriya Semyrodenko, Clayton State
Katie White, Clayton State

Doubles Teams

First Team
Martine Beckmann & Alida Muller-Wehlau, Armstrong Atlantic State
Gabriella Kovacs & Sona Novakova, Armstrong Atlantic State
Tereza Sykorova and Sabina Baberadova, Francis Marion

Second Team
Diane Danna & Bertille Lion, GCSU
Lorianne Favoretto & Hanane Toumi, Columbus State
Bianca Machado & Marina Ferreria, Augusta State

Player of the Year
Sona Novakova, Armstrong Atlantic State

Freshman of the Year
Tracy Castillo, Columbus State

Coach of the Year
Simon Earnshaw, Armstrong Atlantic State