PBC Releases Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket

PBC Releases Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket

The Peach Belt Conference released the 2010 women’s tennis tournament bracket from the league office in Augusta following the final regular-season match on Wednesday.  Armstrong Atlantic State will begin their quest for a seventh-straight PBC Tournament title as the #1 seed.  The tournament begins on Friday, April 16, at the Clayton County Tennis Center in Jonesboro, Ga.  Clayton State University is serving as tournament host.

The Lady Pirates won their seventh straight PBC regular-season championship after once again going undefeated in PBC play.  The #1-ranked team in the nation, AASU was 12-0 in PBC play, 24-0 overall and have not lost a regular-season or PBC Tournament match to a conference opponent since 2004.  The two-time defending national champions will face eighth-seeded Lander in the first round.

Columbus State will be the #2 seed.  Ranked #5 in the nation, the Lady Cougars were 11-1 in conference play, 17-4 overall.  Winners of nine of their last 11 matches heading into the tournament, the Lady Cougars made five straight appearances in the championship match from 2003-07 but have not returned since.  CSU will face seventh-seeded GCSU in Friday’s quarterfinals.  GCSU earned the seed by defeating Lander in the Wednesday’s regular-season finale.

Host Clayton State will be the #3 seed after finishing conference play with a 10-2 league mark, 13-6 overall.  The Lakers reached the semifinals of the 2009 PBC Tournament, also played at the Clayton County Tennis Center, and hope to make their first appearance in the championship match.  Clayton State will face sixth-seeded and nationally-ranked #29 Augusta State in the first round.

Francis Marion is the #4 seed with a 9-3 PBC mark and 14-4 overall.  Ranked #13 in the nation, the Patriots hope to appear in their third consecutive PBC final and take home their first tournament championship.  The Patriots have won six of seven matches heading into the tournament, the lone loss coming to Armstrong Atlantic State in the regular-season finale.  FMU will take on fifth-seeded Flagler, making their PBC Tournament debuts after joining the league this season.  Flagler is ranked #22 in the nation.

The PBC Tournament format has changed for this year.  Instead of all conference teams advancing to tournament play, only the top eight seeds will vie for the championship.  All quarterfinal rounds will be played on Friday starting at noon with the semifinals on Saturday.  The PBC Championship match will be held on Sunday at 10:00 am.  Admission to all matches is free.

Click here for the complete bracket (PDF).