Peach Belt Releases Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Releases Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

AUGUSTA, GA -- The Peach Belt Conference has released 26-member women’s soccer All-Conference team from a banquet in Evans, Ga., site of the 2009 Tournament. Armstrong Atlantic State’s Kristin Burton was named the PBC Player of the Year for the third time. North Georgia’s Kelsey Martin was named the Freshman of the Year while her coach, Chris Adams, was named the PBC Coach of the Year.

Burton becomes the first women’s soccer player ever to earn a third PBC Player of the Year award. The senior from Ocala, Fla., became the PBC’s all-time goal scoring leader in 2009 with 90 in her career. The 2009 season was her most productive yet as she scored a career-best and league-leading 26 goals. She also led the league in assists. Burton will leave the PBC as its most decorated women’s soccer player having earned the 2006 PBC Freshman of the Year award to go with her three Player of the Year honors.

Kelsey Martin becomes the first North Georgia player to be named the Freshman of the Year. She led the Saints and was tied for seventh in the PBC with nine goals during the season; she was also tied for eighth in the league in points. The Dallas, Ga., native had three game-winning goals, including the lone score in a 1-0 upset of then third-ranked Columbus State. She started in 11 games as a freshman and played in all 16 for North Georgia.

Chris Adams earns his first PBC Coach of the Year award after leading North Georgia to a 10-5-2 overall record in 2009. In his seventh season at NGCSU, Adams led the program from the NAIA to the Division II level and this season pulled off their biggest win with a 1-0 victory against Columbus State, then ranked #3 in the nation. The Saints were the #5 seed after turning in their most conference wins in any season as a part of the Peach Belt.

The 2009 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league’s head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

First Team
Kristin Burton, Armstrong Atlantic St.
Gina Goforth, Columbus State
Kelsey Martin, North Georgia
Cherie Sayon, Clayton State
Second Team
Christina Barbour, Lander
Britney Joiner, UNC Pembroke
Paige Scott, Montevallo
Anna Svensson, UNC Pembroke

First Team
Morgan Mitchell, Armstrong Atlantic St.
Kelly Penston, North Georgia
Tiffany Urquhart, Flagler
Jill Walthall, Columbus State
Second Team
Natalie Martineau, Montevallo
Christin Moss, Lander
Daria Owen, GCSU
Ally Treat, GCSU

First Team
Morgan Cobb, GCSU
Laurel McKenzie, Columbus State
Carey Patterson, Armstrong Atlantic St.
Casey Smith, North Georgia
Second Team
Jessica Binkowski, GCSU
Kim Gaughan, Columbus State
Tawny Moffat, GCSU
Annie Whitley, USC Aiken

First Team
Mary Rob Plunkett, GCSU
Second Team
Kelly Nimmo, Columbus State

Players of the Year
Kristin Burton, Armstrong Atlantic State
Freshman of the Year
Kelsey Martin, North Georgia
Coach of the Year
Chris Adams, North Georgia

Women's 1st Team All-Conference

Women's Soccer 2nd Team All-Conference