Peach Belt Announces Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Announces Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

AUGUSTA, GA -- The Peach Belt Conference has announced the 2008 women’s soccer all-conference team. The announcement was made at a luncheon in Evans, Ga., site of the PBC Championship Tournament. Armstrong Atlantic State’s Kristin Burton was named the PBC Player of the Year while UNC Pembroke’s Britney Joiner was named the Freshman of the Year. Columbus State head coach Jay Entlich was named the Coach of the Year. The PBC named 26 student-athletes to the all-conference team with 13 receiving first-team honors.

Burton becomes the third player in PBC history to win the Player of the Year award for a second time, she was named the 2006 Player and Freshman of the Year. In 2008, the junior from Ocala, Fla., led the PBC with 22 goals scored, the fourth-highest single-season total in PBC history and also moved into a tie for second on the PBC’s all-time goal-scoring list. Burton also set a new PBC record this year by scoring goals in eight consecutive games.

Joiner was the second-leading scorer for UNC Pembroke, which is in the midst of their best season ever with a 16-1-1 mark and #10 national ranking. A true freshman from Jacksonville, Fla., Joiner was second on the team with nine goals and 22 total points this year. She is tied for sixth in the PBC in goals. She is the third UNCP Lady Brave to be named the Freshman of the Year, the first since Jamie Clarke in 2003.

Coach Entlich saw his Lady Cougars win their fourth straight PBC regular-season championship in 2008 and earn the #1 seed for the tournament for the fourth year in a row. Now in his fifth year at Columbus State since founding the women’s soccer program in 2004, Entlich and the Lady Cougars are the top-ranked team it the NCAA Southeast Region and ranked fifth nationally. With a 17-3-1 overall mark and 7-0-1 conference record, the Lady Cougars have not lost a regular-season PBC game since 2005. This is his second Coach of the Year award, he first received the honor in 2005.

The 2008 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league’s head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

First Team
Kristin Burton, Armstrong Atlantic State
Melanie Cobb, UNC Pembroke
Stephanie Parrish, Columbus State
Second Team
Hayley Ferrell, GCSU
Gina Goforth, Columbus State
Lauren Schenk, North Georgia

First Team
Faye Corbett, UNC Pembroke
Kelly Martin, North Georgia
Kellie Myles, Columbus State
Second Team
Jamie Craine, Armstrong Atlantic State
Jennifer Powell, Clayton State
Ally Treat, GCSU

First Team
Sarah Hawkins, Columbus State
Lauren Townsend, UNC Pembroke
Morgan Cobb, GCSU
Second Team
Jessica Binkowski, GCSU
Britney Greaves, UNC Pembroke
Casey Smith, North Georgia

First Team
Whitney Beverly, UNC Pembroke
Second Team
Mary Rob Plunkett, GCSU

First Team
Monica Sanchez, Columbus State
Danielle Brannon, North Georgia
Karen Bonilla, GCSU
Second Team
Kayla Emerson, GCSU
Lauren Myers, USC Aiken
Bose Tanimola, Clayton State

Player of the Year
Kristin Burton, Armstrong Atlantic State

Freshman of the Year
Britney Joiner, UNC Pembroke

Coach of the Year
Jay Entlich, Columbus State

Women's Soccer 1st Team All-Conference
Women's Soccer 2nd Team All-Conference

PBC Commissioner David Brunk presents AASU's Kristin Burton with the Player of the Year award.