Flagler Roars Back to Take PBC Women’s Golf Title!

Flagler Roars Back to Take PBC Women’s Golf Title!

ST. AUGUSTINE, FLA – Entering the final round trailing by nine strokes, the Flagler Saints shot a 316 on the final day of the 2018 PBC Women's Golf Championship to rally and win by two.  The Saints win their second straight PBC title, becoming the first school to ever win back-to-back women's golf championships.  North Georgia's Megan Sabol took individual medalist honors after rallying from three strokes back.

UNC Pembroke finished second in the team scoring after a 327 on Sunday for a total of 932.  North Georgia moved up one to third at 965 while Young Harris was fourth and Columbus State fifth. 

On a day when scoring was up across the board due to increased wind, the Saints were five strokes better than any other team and 11 better than UNCP, who led the first two rounds. Kim Jacobs and Pauline Tainton both shot rounds of 78 to lead the team on Sunday while Miranda Greene finished the tournament in a tie for second at 232 following a Sunday 81. 

Natalia Azcue fired a final-round 83 to finish in a tie for sixth while Lara Ardler shot a 79 and finished in 10thoverall.

Sabol shot the low round of the day with a 75 to win the individual title.  The sophomore from Augusta, Ga., and 2018 PBC Player of the Year had two birdies on the day.  She was tied for the tournament lead with -3 on the par-fives and wins her third tournament of the year.  She is the first Nighthawk to win the PBC Tournament.

After holding the lead through the first two rounds, UNCP's Madison Corley fell to second with a final-round 83.  The freshman finished in a tie with teammate Alexandria Bare at 232; Bare fired a 79 on Sunday.  UNCP's Megan Munroe was fifth with an 83.  The top five golfers in the field were named to the All-Tournament team. 

PBC teams will await the announcement of the NCAA Tournament field on Monday, April 30 to find out of their seasons will continue.