PBC Releases Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket

PBC Releases Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference office has released the 2010 men’s tennis tournament bracket from the conference office in Augusta.  Armstrong Atlantic State is the top seed in the tournament as they will defend their title for the fifth time.  The PBC tournament begins at noon on Friday at the Clayton County Tennis Complex in Jonesboro, Ga., and is hosted by Clayton State University.

Armstrong Atlantic State is the #1 team in the nation and are looking for their sixth consecutive tournament championship.  9-0 in league play this year, the Pirates were 24-1 overall in 2010 and won its fifth PBC regular-season championship.  Winners of the national championship in 2008 an 2009, AASU will begin the tournament against eighth-seeded USC Aiken on Friday at noon.

Columbus State will be the #2 seed at the PBC Tournament.  The Cougars had only one loss in conference play to Armstrong Atlantic State for an 8-1 conference record.  14-3 overall on the year, CSU is ranked #10 in the nation and will be looking for their first appearance in the PBC championship match.  The Cougars will face #7 Augusta State in the tournament’s first round.

GCSU defeated Lander 5-3 on Wednesday in the final regular-season match of the season to earn the #3 seed in the PBC.  The Bobcats reached the championship match in 2008 and enter the 2010 tournament with a 6-3 conference record, 14-5 overall.  Ranked #14 in the nation, the Bobcats will face sixth-seeded Lander once again in the tournament quarterfinals.

Francis Marion is the #4 seed following a three-way tiebreaker with Flagler and Lander.  The three teams each had one win and one loss against each other and the tie was broken using their records against the tournament’s top seeds.  All three had lost to both AASU and CSU, but Francis Marion was the only one with a win over GCSU.  The Patriots will face Flagler at the #5 seed.  Flagler won their tiebreaker over Lander thanks to a head-to-head win during the regular season.

The PBC Tournament format has changed for this year.  Instead of all conference teams advancing to tournament play, only the top eight seeds will vie for the championship.  All quarterfinal rounds will be played on Friday starting at noon with the semifinals on Saturday.  The PBC Championship match will be held on Sunday at 1:00 pm.  Admission to all matches is free.

Click here for the complete backet (PDF)