Three PBC Men’s Basketball Players Named NABC All-District

Three PBC Men’s Basketball Players Named NABC All-District

KANSAS CITY, MO – Three Peach Belt Conference men's basketball players were named All-District by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) on Monday.  Augusta's Keshun Sherrill and Montevallo's Javonte Douglas were named first-team while Clayton State's Alfonso Davis was named second team.  The teams are voted on by head men's basketball coaches.

Sherrill was named the D2CCA Southeast Region Player of the Year. He was also named a first-team, All-Southeast Region selection this season. 

The 5-9 senior guard from Cleveland, N.C., was also named the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year and owns the all-time scoring title in conference history with 2,333 points – breaking Madgen's previously held record of 2,306 points.

Sherrill was also first team All-PBC this season and was named the PBC Player of the Week three times in 2016-17. He averaged 22.6 points on the year and started all 32 games. He led the Peach Belt in points, field goals, free throws, and minutes played and was second in points per game and three pointers. He finishes third amongst active 2017 Division II players for the most career points. 

Sherrill scored 42 points in a win at North Georgia, the most in a single game by any player in the league this season and tied for eighth on the PBC all-time list. He had four games of 30 or more points, including 33 against USC Aiken in the season finale.

A 6-foot-8 forward from Charlotte, North Carolina, Douglas was on the top 50 watch list for the Bevo Francis Award recognizing the top small college basketball player in the nation. Douglas was also named a first team All-Peach Belt Conference selection.

Douglas, a four-time Peach Belt Conference Player of the Week selection, led the conference in three separate statistical categories this season.

Douglas averaged a conference-high 24.2 points per game and a conference-best 11.3 rebounds per game to go along with a conference-leading 46.5 percent (40-of-86) shooting from beyond the arc.

Douglas is the only player nationally in NCAA Division II to be ranked in the top 10 in both scoring and rebounding. Douglas finished in double figures in scoring in every game he played in and posted a conference-leading 14 double-doubles this season.

Douglas scored a career-high 34 points against Lane College and grabbed a career-best 20 rebounds against Lander University during his senior season.

Davis adds to an impressive list of awards from 2016-17 as he has already been named the first ever back-to-back Peach Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year and an All-PBC First-Team selection.  He is just the seventh Laker to be named NABC All-District and the first since Teondre Williams (Second-Team) in 2011-12.

This year the Bronx, New York native produced a record setting year in leading the Lakers to a PBC West Division Championship, their first regular season title since 2002, and a return to the PBC Tournament for the first time since 2012-13.

On the year he averaged 14.1 points, 8.6 rebounds, 1.7 blocks, 1.8 assists and 1.5 steals while shooting .527 from the field. He also finished his career in the Top-10 in 17 categories, 10 in single season and seven in career, to go along with a program single game record. 

Additionally, his 249 boards this season is fifth most in a season as is his 8.6 rebounds per game and his 50 blocks are tied for sixth. He pulled down 89 offensive boards to tie for seventh and averaged 1.7 blocks, which is ninth.

Sherrill and Douglas are now eligible for All-America consideration.  The NABA All-America team will be announced on Tuesday.

First Team                                                          
Jalin Alexander, Queens                                      
Charles Clark, Carson-Newman                             
Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial                           
Javonte Douglas, Montevallo                                 
Chris Perry, Lincoln Memorial                                 
Keshun Sherill, Augusta
Second Team
A.J. Clark, Pfeiffer
Shaq Dance, Limestone
Alfonso Davis, Clayton State
Shaun Stewart, Limestone
C.J. Wilson, Young Harris 
Coach of the Year: Jeremy Currier, Pfeiffer