The Peach Belt Conference is proud to introduce the first year of the Team Sportsmanship Award Program. The awards program, which includes honoring one team from each of the league’s 12 championship sports, will also recognize one institution with the ‘Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award.’

For the 2008-09 season, Francis Marion was presented with the Institution of the Year Award.

The program presents an award following each championship season to the team in that sport that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducts themselves with a high degree of integrity, character and class. The team award is selected by other teams who compete in that sport. Points are awarded based on how each team finished in the voting and in June, the institution with the highest totals will receive the ‘PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award.’

The league’s Senior Woman Administrators will oversee the program.

2008-09 Team Sportsmanship Award Winners



North Georgia



Women's Tennis

Francis Marion

Men's Tennis

Georgia Southwestern


North Georgia

Women's Basketball

UNC Pembroke

Men's Basketball

Georgia College & State University


Augusta State University

Women's Soccer

Columbus State University

Men's Soccer

Francis Marion University

Men's Cross Country

Francis Marion University

Women's Cross Country

Augusta State University