GCSU Wins 2008-09 Commissioner's Cup

HILTON HEAD, S.C.-- For the first time, Georgia College & State University has won the Peach Belt Conference Commissioner’s Cup, given to the best overall athletic program in the league. The Bobcats won the men’s tennis regular-season championship and finished in the top three in women’s soccer, baseball, softball and golf and were in the top half of the PBC standings in all 10 of their intercollegiate programs. GCSU, a charter member of the Peach Belt, had never finished higher than fifth in the final standings.

The PBC Commissioner’s Cup is determined by calculating the number of points possible to each school, given the number of sports they participate in, divided by the number of points earned during the year. Points are determined by placement in the final regular-season standings of each of the PBC’s 12 championship sports. GCSU earned 72 of a possible 95 points available to them for a .758 rating while Armstrong Atlantic State earned 62.5 of a possible 85 points for a.735 rating.

Armstrong Alantic State, with regular-season championships in volleyball and women’s tennis, was second while Columbus State finished third after taking the men’s and women’s cross country titles and women’s soccer championship.

2008-09 Commissioner's Cup Standings
School Max Possible* Total Earned Rating
GCSU 95 72 .758
Armstrong Atlantic State
85 62.5 .735
Columbus State
95 65.5 .689
Francis Marion
91 59.5 .647
Clayton State 73 46 .630
USC Aiken
102 62 .608
Augusta State
78 44 .564
North Georgia 94 51 .543
Lander 102 46.5 .456
UNC Pembroke 99 35.5 .359
Georgia Southwestern 96 14.5 .151


*Ratings are determined by taking the maximum number of points available to each school, depending on how many sports each has, and dividing by the number of points won, based on conference finish through the regular season (except golf and cross country which are based on championship results)

(L to R): Dr. Ken Farr, Ginger Chaffinch, Dr. Bruce Harshbarger, Jud Damon and Dr. Dorothy Leland accept the 2008-09 Commissioner's Cup.