PBC Announces Fall Team Sportsmanship Awards

PBC Announces Fall Team Sportsmanship Awards

AUGUSTA, GA – The Peach Belt Conference has announced the winners of the fall Team Sportsmanship Awards.  Georgia Southwestern State won for men's soccer with UNC Pembroke winning for women's soccer and Georgia College for volleyball.

The program presents an award following each championship season to the team in that sport that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducts themselves with a high degree of integrity, character and class. The team award is selected by other teams who compete in that sport. Points are awarded based on how each team finished in the voting and in June, the institution with the highest totals will receive the 'PBC Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award.'

Georgia Southwestern claims their sixth straight men's soccer award, having won them consecutively since 2012, including sharing with USC Aiken in 2014.  Overall, Georgia Southwestern has won the second-most total Team Sportsmanship Awards in the 10-year history of the program.  The 2017 men's soccer honor is the school's 18th

UNC Pembroke claims their first women's soccer Team Sportsmanship Award after winning the 2017 PBC Tournament.  The award is the 12th overall for the school.

Georgia College wins their second straight volleyball award following their most successful season, which saw the team advance to the NCAA Tournament for the first time and win their opening-round match.  Georgia College has now won 13 total Team Sportsmanship Awards.

The cross country All-Sportsmanship Team was presented at the PBC Championships in October.  One male and female runner from each school that sponsor the sport was chosen.  You can seen this year's winners here.

A complete list of all winners for the past 10 years can be seen on the PBC Annual Awards page here.

2017-18 PBC Fall Team Sportsmanship Award Winners


Georgia College

Women's Soccer

UNC Pembroke

Men's Soccer

Georgia Southwestern

Men's and Women's Cross Country

All-Sportsmanship Team